Sources of Islamic Law, Primary and Secondary Sources of Islamic Law

Islam is a complete code of life. Islam is ‘Deen’ which means complete in all aspects. The Islamic law system is a comprehensive and complete system that provides guidance in every aspect of life. There are two basic fundamental sources of Islamic law or Sharia law the Holy Quran and the Sunnah of our beloved Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). All sects of Muslims whether Sunni or Shia or any other agreed upon these two sources.

Basic Source of Islamic Law

Fundamental sources of Islamic law

There are two basic fundamental sources of Islamic law are:

  • Primary Source of Islamic Law
  • Secondary Sources of Islamic Law

The primary and basic source of Islamic law

The Quran is the first and Basic source of Islamic law. Quran is a book of Allah which is sent to Muhammad (PBHH) and even after 1400 years it is in its original form and not a single word is changed. Quran provides primary laws which are the fundamentals of Islamic law. It is without any doubt the most basic, uncontroversial, and fundamental source of Islamic Sharia or Islamic Laws.

Secondary Sources of Islamic Law

The second basic source of Islamic laws is the Sunnah of our beloved Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). All the actions and saying of the Holy Prophet is called Sunnah. Sunnah is also known as Hades.


Mostly all rules are explained by Quraan and Sunnah but sometimes there is no explanation of the newly created problem then Ijma is used to solve the newly created problem. Ijma is 3rd basic source of Islamic Law. Basically, Ijma means consensus or suggestion of people on particular issues when there is no guidance available from Holy Quran and Sunnah.


Ijtihad is the fourth source of Islamic jurisprudence. When something is not clear from the Holy Quran or Sunnah then the deduction can be used. It is the process of deduction which is not change the law of the text.


Qiyas is also the source of Islamic jurisprudence. We can compare it with legal fiction in western or urban Jurisprudence. It is based on  Quran, Sunnah, and Ijma.
These above-mentioned sources are the main sources of Islamic law other source includes;

  • Istihsan
  • Istislah
  • Maslaih-al-Mursalah
  • Istidlal
  •  Illat
  • Urf
  • Taqlid

Related Posts